About NALF

The North American Limousin Foundation President makes appointments to several committees each year. These committees exist to ensure certain aspects of the association run properly. They give a voice to the membership by bringing their needs and concerns to the board. The following is a description of the ten committees and a list of their members.

Nominating Committee

This committee networks with the NALF membership to identify the most qualified candidates for directors to serve on the NALF board and provide leadership for the organization. The committee’s recommendations for directors shall be published in the November issue of the Limousin Today. Nominations from outside the nominating committee must be made to the NALF office no later than October 1.

Committee members: Chairman: Bret Begert

Commercial Marketing Committee

Increases demand and commercial market share through advertising, promotion and execution of programs directed to demonstrate and enhance the commercial value of Limousin genetics. They also provide input as to educational efforts directed toward commercial producers and content directed toward NALF members on subjects related to serving the needs of commercial producers. This is the primary committee liaison with alliance entities. They are also responsible for budgets pertaining to advertising, commercial marketing and promotion, and commercial programs.

Chairman: Joey Freund; Staff: Mark Anderson, Board members: Wade Beckman, Dan Hunt, Mark Barker, Gene Raymond, Joe Moore; Members: Mike Smith, Trent Coleman, Mat Lewis, Andy Bailey, Fred Wacker, Shelby Skinner

Finance Committee

Oversees development and execution of NALF’s annual operating budget consistent with long-term board approved financial objectives. Monitor income and expenses on a monthly basis and coordinate with other committees as to executing their plan of work in accordance to approved budget guidelines. Recommend mid-year adjustments to the budget as might be deemed necessary to achieve targeted year-end financial performance objectives. Provide oversight for execution of the board approved investment policy and track performance of investments. Review year-end financial performance including report from auditor.

Chairman: Austin Hager; Staff: Mark Anderson; Board members: Gary Fuchs, Dexter Edwards, Jim Bob Hendrickson, Curt Wieczorek

Limousin Today/ Communications Committee

Explore the commonalities between both parties to decrease duplication of effort, while complementing each other’s actions. As necessary, guide operation and interest in the Limousin Today.

Chairman: Bruce Lawrence; Staff: Mark Anderson and Mallory Blunier; Board members: Jim Bob Hendrickson, Charles Linhart, Randy Corns, Dexter Edwards; Members: Chad Settje, Bob Mitchell, Chisum Peterson.

Membership Committee

Increase membership, registrations, transfers, and involvement of members in activities of the NALF and their respective state Limousin associations. This committee provides input as to educational efforts directed toward NALF members for more effective production and marketing of Limousin genetics. They are also responsible for budgets pertaining to member marketing activities and for projecting revenue for member registration and transfer activity.

Chairman: Dexter Edwards; Staff: Mark Anderson, Alison Jones, Stephanie Kramer-Beddo and Katie Campbell; Board members: Bret Begert, Joe Moore, Randy Corns, Bruce Lawrence, Austin Hager; Members: Ty Heavin, Jay Wilder, John Pence.

NALJA Committee

Serve as the committee liaison between the NALF board of directors and the board of directors for the North American Limousin Junior Association (NALJA). Monitor fundraising, expenditures and financial management of NALJA as well as executions of NALJA sponsored activities. Review NALJA action relative to rules and regulations, selection of judges, sites for NALJA events and recognition of NALJA members.

Chairman: Jim Bob Hendrickson; Staff: Mark Anderson and Katie Campbell; Board members: Bret Begert, Greg Blaydes; Members: Kevin Ochsner, Sean & Brooke Edwards, Amber Parkinson, Brenda Anderson, Skyler Davis, Ethan Freund.

Breed Improvement Committee (Formerly Performance Committee)

Guides the development of NALF’s performance related functions including EPDs, ultrasound data collection, NALF sponsored research, DNA and animal typing-services for parentage and other traits, genetic defects, and genomic-enhanced EPDs.

Chairman: Gene Raymond, Staff: Mark Anderson and Alison Jones; Consultant: Bob Weaber, Tonya Amen, Tessa Verbeek; Board members: Mark Barker, Curt Wieczorek, Joey Freund, Dan Hunt, Austin Hager; Members: Trent Coleman, Casey Fanta, Mark Haden, Mat Lewis, Warren Symens, Gary Gates

Rules & Regulations Committee

Assist staff in updating materials in the member’s manual, including rules, regulations and by-laws. Guides operation and further development of NALF’s data processing functions to facilitate industry-leading service to members, while enhancing office efficiency in the delivery of such services.

Chairman: Curt Wieczorek; Staff: Mark Anderson; Board members: Bret Begert, Greg Blaydes, Joe Moore, Joey Freund; Members: Warren Symens, Mark Smith, Jack Glendenning

Show Committee

Increase participation, merchandising value, and satisfaction members receive through exhibiting cattle in NALF’S MOE events. Responsibilities of this committee include: development and execution of the MOE budget including work with official sponsors, selection of judges for Level I, maintain an approved judges list, review and recommend to the board any changes in MOE policies, rules and requirements, select MOE awards, and generally resolve MOE issues as needed.

Chairman: Jim Bob Hendrickson; Staff: Mark Anderson and Katie Campbell; Board members: Greg Blaydes, Bruce Lawrence, Charles Linhart; Members: Thad Fosdick, Clay Schilling, Chris Thomas, Ty Heavin, Heather Henderson, Ronn Cunningham, John Pence, Shelby Skinner

ILC Committee

This committee oversees planning commencement for the 2018 International Limousin Congress Conference.

Chairman: Rebecca Ferda; Staff: Mark Anderson and Katie Campbell; Board members: Curt Wieczorek, Joey Freund; Members: Joe Epperly, Dr. John Edwards, Anne Burgess, Kevin Ochsner, Jerry Effertz, Wayne Vanderwert, Kent Anderson, Bob Mitchell, Brent Fillmore, Kiley McKinna

Vision Committee

Looks at and develops new programs. They also evaluate the market and beef industry for opportunities for Limousin cattle and continued work on a branded beef program.

Chairman: Charles Linhart; Staff: Mark Anderson; Board members: Austin Hager, Gene Raymond, Wade Beckman; Members: Jason Gaston, Cash Schilling, Bob Mitchell, Mat Lewis, Terry O’Neill, Jerry Wulf, Fred Wacker, Chad Settje

Staffing Committee

Manages any new and current positions, along with the executive director, at NALF and helps make hiring decisions.

Chairman: Gary Fuchs; Board members: Brett Begert, Dexter Edwards, Jim Bob Hendrickson, Gary Fuchs, Austin Hager, Curt Wieczorek


October (tabloid) issue ad copy due: September 4

National Junior Limousin Show & Congress and International Limousin Congress video coverage available!

Mailed in registrations and transfers turn around: 2 weeks

DNA turn around: 4 weeks